Author Topic: Getting Amateur Radio License Plates in the New England States, Massachusetts.  (Read 4298 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline W1RC

  • NEAR-Fest Founder & Benevolent Dictator.
  • Administrator
  • Extra
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
  • Karma: +1/-0
Here is the current information from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, aka "the Registry or "the RMV".  Like everything else in the Commonwealth it is a lot more complicated and inconvenient than it need be and there are various fees associated with the transaction.

"Ham Radio Operator plates" is the only term that the Registry understands when referring to these plates.  Here is the application form:  http://www.massdot.state.ma.us/rmv/forms/21584.pdf

The plate will consist of your FCC assigned call sign and is separated by a single lightning bolt graphic.  This is represented in the System database by a single backslash character /.  If a cop writes your plate number on a ticket but omits the backslash that is the last of the matter you will ever hear.  Many cops in MA don't know this.

Cost to apply and make up the set of two license plates is $20.00.  You are required to send a photocopy of your current FCC license with your applivation.  Once the plates are ready, which takes 4-8 weeks, the RMV will send them to a branch Registry office of your choosing.  You then must go to that office, remove your old plates from your vehicle and exchange them.  You will also have to pay a fee of $40.00.  Therefore your initial cost will be $60.00.

You can apply for a partial "rebate" of the unused portion of the two-year plate the amount dependent on how long you used them but after their inevitable rebate "fee" of $17.50 of the $50.00 you paid for them. 

All ham radio operator plates expire at the end of November.  Renewal may be either my mail, in person or online,  The annual fee currently (June 2014) is $25.00 for registration and $20.00 special plate fee for a total of  $45.00.  Note that in Massachusetts Ham Radio Operator plates are NOT considered "Vanity plates" which cost more.  They are "Special Plates".

So the initial cost in Massachusetts is $65.00 with a possible rebate of up to $17.50 and annual renewal fee of $45.00.  Since the normal cost to register a passenger vehicles $25.00 a year the additional cost per year for ham radio operator plates is $20.00.

73,

MisterMike, W1RC


Offline W1RC

  • NEAR-Fest Founder & Benevolent Dictator.
  • Administrator
  • Extra
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
  • Karma: +1/-0
Getting Amateur Radio License Plates in Vermont.
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 11:13:11 AM »
in Vermont getting an amateur radio license plate is considerably easier than in MA.  There is a one-time fee of $15.00 to make the plates but because amateur radio plates are considered "safety/service organization" plates, no additional or "Vanity plate" fee is payable upon renewal.

http://dmv.vermont.gov/registrations/drivers/plates/special#amateurradiooperator

Simple eh?


Offline W1RC

  • NEAR-Fest Founder & Benevolent Dictator.
  • Administrator
  • Extra
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Getting Amateur Radio License Plates in Ehode Island
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 11:17:57 AM »
Rhode Island issues ham radio plates to all classes of licensee except Novice.

This DMV law concerning call letter plates is one that always causes issues. The people at the registry usually aren't aware of the law and when they find it, they want to charge you a Vanity plate fee or $20 or 30 per year. The law was enacted in 1955 and is absolutely NOT part of the Vanity program, which came along decades later. So, DO NOT pay any extra fee. It should carry the normal fee each year for your car.

Here is the text of the RI law.

The best way to deal with this is to print a hard copy or two of 31-3-39 and bring it with you ro the DMV when you go to apply for your plates. The clerk can take a copy and attach one to your application (because she probably won't believe that it's right). But it is RI law and you must not let the people at registry talk you out of it even if they try.  And, being Rhode Island, they will try.



Offline W1RC

  • NEAR-Fest Founder & Benevolent Dictator.
  • Administrator
  • Extra
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Getting Amateur Radio License Plates in New Hampshire
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 02:07:09 PM »
I believe that NH does not have specific Amateur Radio plates so you will have to get your call sign on a vanity plate and pay the appropriate fee.

Just for giggles, here are some proposed vanity plates that were rejected by the NH DMV.

Offline W1RC

  • NEAR-Fest Founder & Benevolent Dictator.
  • Administrator
  • Extra
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Getting Amateur Radio License Plates in Maine
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2014, 02:08:30 PM »
Maine also does not have a specific amateur radio license plate.  However you can get your call sign for your vehicle as a Vanity plate.  This costs $25.00 and you must submit a notarized copy of your FCC license.

Here's the form.

73,

MrMike


Offline W1RC

  • NEAR-Fest Founder & Benevolent Dictator.
  • Administrator
  • Extra
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Getting Amateur Radio License Plates in the New England States.
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2014, 02:09:25 PM »
Here's everything you need to know if you want to get CT call sign license plates.